This is NOT an official site of
the Nichiren Shoshu Shoshin-kai
THE LAW encompasses all elements of life.  The Gohonzon is not the Law; it is a
representation of the Law, illustrating the totality of life, which in Buddhism is called
sanzen. Each character represents one aspect of ichinen sanzen.

Represented here are first in the center is the Law of
Namumyohorengekyo followed by
, which indicates the oneness of the person and the Law. Then on either side of the
Law are the Ten worlds are represented: 2 Buddhas representing Buddhahood;
4 Bodhisattvas representing the world of Bodhisattvas; representing the Worlds Learning
and Realization are 2 other bodhisattvas and a person of learning and a person of realization;
there are 2 tutelary gods representing the World of Heaven as well as the Devll of the Sixth
Heaven, the Sun, the Moon and the Stars; the World of Humanity is represented by a Wheel
Turning King; contentious demons (asuras) represent the World of Anger; a dragon king
represents Animality; a demon and her 10 daughters represent the world of Hunger; and the
evil cousin of Shakyamuni represents the World of Hell. Also included are protective gods
in the four corners of Gohonzon. Also included are principles of the Law such as “earthly
desires are enlightenment, and sufferings of life and death are nirvana.” Also included are
the names of great teachers who transmitted the Law, as well as an expression of the good
fortune of those who make offerings to the Law, and a warning for those who transgress the

In T
he Real Aspect of Gohonzon, Daishonin wrote (MWND Vol. 1), "Never seek this Gohonzon
outside yourself. The Gohonzon exists only within the mortal flesh of us ordinary people who
embrace the Lotus Sutra and chant Namumyohorengekyo. The body is the palace of the ninth
consciousness10, the unchanging reality which reigns over all life's functions. To be
"endowed with the Ten Worlds" means that all the Ten Worlds without exception are
contained in the one world of Buddhahood. That is why the Gohonzon is called a mandala.
Mandala is a Sanskrit word meaning "perfectly endowed" or 'cluster of blessings.' The
Gohonzon is found in faith alone. As the sutra states, 'Only with faith can one enter
1. Namumyōhōrengekyō
2. Nichiren
3. Zaigohan
4. Fudō Myōō
5. Aizen Myōō
6. Namu Tahō Nyorai
7. Namu Shakyamuni Butsu
8. Namu Jōgyō Bosatsu  
9. Namu Jyōgyō Bosatsu
10. Namu Muhengyō Bosatsu
11. Namu Anryukyō Bosatsu
12. Dai-Jikokutenno
13. Dai-Bishamontenno
14. Dai-Kōmokutenno
15. Dai-Zōchotenno
16. Nyaku noran sha zu ha shichibun  
17. U kuyo sha fuku ka jugo
18. Namu Monjushiri Bosatsu
19. Namu Fugen Bosatsu
20. Namu Sharihotsu Sonja
21. Namu Kashō Sonja
22. Daibontenno
23. Taishakutenno
24. Dairokuten no Maō
25. Dai Gattenno
26. Dai Nittenno
27. Dai Myojotenno
28.  Kishimojin
29.  Jurasetsunyo
30.  Daibadatta
31.  Ajase-ō
32.  Tenrinjōō
33.  Dai-ryū-ō
34.  Ashura-ō
35.  Tenshō Daijin
36.  Hachiman Daibosatsu
37.  Tendai Daishi
38.  Dengyō Daishi
39.  Butsumetsugo nisen ni hyaku san-ju yonen no aida ichiembudai no
uchi, mizou o dai-mandara nari
40.  Tame gentōnise
41.  Juyo-no
42.  Showa yon-ju ninen ichi-gatsu nanoka
43.  66th High Priest Nittatsu Kaō Hōshoshashi
This diagram is based on a Gohonzon transcribed by
High Priest Nittatsu Shonin
on January 7, 1961
Below lists each figure on the Gohonzon in Romanji. For an in depth
description of Gohonzon and each of these elements please
click here.