Other teachings or sutras of Shakyamuni represent the
teachings of the Buddha, while the
Lotus Sutra represents
both the teachings of the Buddha and the embodiment of
the Buddha's wisdom. Shakyamuni said of the Lotus Sutra
that "among those sutras the Lotus is the foremost," and
that "among the sutras I have preached, now preach and
will preach, this Lotus Sutra is the most difficult to believe
and the most difficult to understand."
Nichiren Daishonin
wrote, "If one puts sincere faith in each character and
brushstroke in it, then one will become a Buddha in one's
present form."

The practice of
Nichiren Shoshu is the recitation of the title
and two chapters (2nd and 16th) of the Lotus Sutra.
Nichiren Daishonin remarked that "Among the entire
twenty-eight chapters, the
Hoben [2nd] and Juryo [16th]
chapters are particularly outstanding. The remaining are all
in a sense the branches and leaves of these two chapters.
Therefore I recommend that you practice reading the prose
sections of the
Hoben and Juryo chapters."

One of the several messages conveyed in the second
chapter is : "Of those who hear the Law, not one fails to
become a Buddha." From the 16th chapter comes the
message: "the nine worlds are present in the beginningless
Buddhahood, and Buddhahood exists in the beginningless
nine worlds."

To recite these two chapters in the morning and evening is
considered the secondary practice. To recite and protect the
daimoku or title of the Lotus Sutra, that is
Namu-myoho-renge-kyo, is the essential and primary
This is NOT an official site of
the Nichiren Shoshu Shoshin-kai
The opening page of the
Liturgy of Nichiren Shoshu.